FIFA Women's World Cup kicks off June 7 in France

by Karen Bradbury
Stripes Europe

Looking to back a winning team? Throw your support behind the United States women’s national soccer team, the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup Champions. As the eighth edition of the World Cup unfolds in nine cities across France between June 7 and July 7, the Americans will be looking to defend their title against what will be a deep and talented field of competitors.

24 countries will compete with the tournament’s first match between host nation France and the Republic of Korea June 7 at 9 p.m. in Paris. The U.S. women’s team will play fellow Group F countries Thailand in Reims June 11, Chile in Paris June 16 and Sweden in Le Havre June 20.

The round of 16 starts June 22-25, the quarter-finals on June 27-29, semi-finals on July 2-3 and the final match July 7.

Tickets are sold on the official FIFA website. Although tickets to most U.S. matches and the final game in Lyon are sold out, tickets to some of the intermediate stage matches are still available. These are matches the U.S. team could play in.
With nine European nations participating, there will likely be watch parties at sidewalk cafes and other outdoor venues. Head to FIFA’s website for more about tickets, times and venues. Go Team U.S.A.!

Subscribe to our Stripes Europe newsletter and receive amazing travel stories, great event info, helpful PCS tips, interesting lifestyle articles and more directly in your inbox!

Follow us on social media!

Facebook: Stars and Stripes Europe
Pinterest: Stars and Stripes Europe
Instagram: @StarsandStripeseurope

Related Content

Recommended Content